GHS Hazard classes

 GHS hazard classes standardize classification procedures. Chemical substances and mixtures that fulfill specific criteria become associated with a specific hazard class based on the physical, health, or environmental hazard that they pose.U.N. appointed task forces (OECD, UNCETVG/ILO) use their expert judgement to examine the scientific basis of the criteria defining the various GHS hazard classes. Based on the 7th revised edition of the GHS Purple Book there are a total of 29 hazard classes: 17 physical hazards, 10 health hazards, and 2 environmental hazards. The specific hazard classes for each type of hazard are listed in the charts below.

Physical Hazards


Flammable Gases


Oxidizing Gases

Gases Under Pressure

Flammable Liquids

Flammable Solids

Self-Reactive Substances

Pyrophoric Liquids

Pyrophoric Solids

Self-Heating Substances

Substances which, when in contact with water emit flammable gases

Oxidizing Liquids

Oxidizing Solids

Organic Peroxides

Corrosive to Metals

Desensitized Explosives


Environmental Hazards

Hazardous to Aquatic Environment

Hazardous to Ozone Layer



Health Hazards

Acute Toxicity (oral, dermal, inhalation)

Skin Corrosion/Irritation

Serious Eye Damage/Eye Irritation

Respiratory or Skin Sensitization

Germ Cell Mutagenicity


Reproductive Toxicology

Specific Target Organ Toxicity

-Single Exposure

Specific Target Organ Toxicity

-Repeated Exposure

Aspiration Hazard



Ensure your GHS Compliance by contacting Nexreg today! 





Complying with government labelling regulations can be a daunting task. Nexreg offers the expertise to make this job simple. Their courteous staff and quick response to all questions makes them the perfect choice. I highly recommend them.
Mel Hayes; Grime Eater Products Limited