Site icon Nexreg

WHMIS Chemical Classifications Released by Health Canada

Health Canada has released technical documents outlining the hazard classifications of 5 substances under the Hazardous Products Act (HPA). These documents are based on peer-reviewed works and reports from international organizations.
The five chemicals that have been analyzed are:
• acetone
• adipic acid
• diethylene glycol monomethyl ether
• n-butyl acetate
• sodium hydroxide

These substances were chosen by Health Canada for the initial release as they were “common chemicals where no major inconsistencies with assessments under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA) or classifications published by the Commission des normes, de l’équité, de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CNESST) have been identified.”
Suppliers are responsible for producing Safety Data Sheets (SDSs) and labels that accurately disclose the hazards associated with products regulated under the HPA. Suppliers can utilize the Hazardous Substance Assessments to meet the legislative requirements. However, it is the responsibility of the Supplier to ensure that their hazardous product labels and SDSs are accurate.

Click here to view the Hazardous Substance Assessments

Click here for more information on WHMIS

We’re SDS Experts

For quality compliance resources for companies of all sizes across the world.

Exit mobile version