The USA Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has issued three final framework rules under the new Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA).  Along with the framework rules, the EPA also released scoping documents for ten substances that were subject to risk evaluation.


Released on the one-year anniversary of the Frank R Lautenberg Chemical Safety for the 21st Century Act, the three rules include:



    1. The Prioritization rule, which helps outline the process by which the EPA will prioritize the existing chemicals for further evaluation.


    1. The Inventory reset rule, which helps lay out the way the agency will designate substances listed on the TSCA inventory.


    1. The risk evaluation rule, this rule will describe how the agency will evaluate the risk of existing substances.



Along with these three rules, the EPA has also made several modifications after the public comments were made.


Some of these comments include:


–       Deleting the pre-prioritization process;


–       Increasing the publics participation when identifying candidates for prioritization; and


–       Not having all conditions of use to be considered.


For more information, please visit


Need US SDS AuthoringContact us today!