The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) have selected the first existing ten chemicals for the newly reformed Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA).


The reform of TSCA, known as the Lautenberg Chemical Safety Act, required that the United States’ EPA to begin evaluating ten workplace chemicals within the six months of the reformed law’s passage.


Three weeks before the initial deadline, the EPA published the list of chemicals for review. They are:





    • methylene chloride


    • n-methylpyrrolidone (NMP)


    • pigment violet 29


    • tetrachloroethylene (perc)


    • trichloroethylene (TCE)




    • 1,4-dioxane


    • 1-bromopropane (1-BP)


    • asbestos


    • carbon tetrachloride


    • cyclic aliphatic bromide cluster (HBCD)



The evaluation will help decide whether the substances presents a risk to injury health and the environment.


For more information, please visit and Please contact Nexreg for more information about TSCA and EPA compliance.